Academics >  Academic Program Overview >  Phi Beta Kappa > 

Phi Beta Kappa
Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's oldest and most prestigious honorary college society. It recognizes the highest scholastic distinction by electing members from among the leading candidates for college degrees in the liberal arts and sciences.

Phi Beta Kappa at Illinois College is a legacy bequeathed to Illinois College back in 1931 by the efforts of Charles Rammelkamp, then President of the college. His effort to gain recognition for the special qualities of an Illinois College education were rewarded when the first installation of the Illinois College Epsilon chapter of Phi Beta Kappa took place on April 6, 1932. Illinois College is one of only 11 in the state to offer membership to this distinguished society.

President Rammelkamp did not live to see that installation – he died one day beforehand – but he set a commitment to the excellence represented by Phi Beta Kappa firmly in place before he died. Today we are the benefactors of his determination to recognize and to celebrate intellectual excellence and achievement.

Newest members inducted May 9, 2013
Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary college society, was founded in 1776 by five students at the College of William and Mary. The society embraces the principles of freedom of inquiry and liberty of thought and expression. Invitation to membership in Phi Beta Kappa is a reflection of the highest scholastic achievement from among the leading candidates for college degrees in the liberal arts and sciences.
Illinois College inducted 13 new members into the Epsilon chapter of Phi Beta Kappa Society during a ceremony on May 9. Those inducted from Illinois include Jenna Bresnahan of New Berlin, Timothy Denney of Jacksonville, Erika Fouts of Girard, Whitney Hedden of Galesburg, Andrea Klinedinst of Canton, Alyson Knapik and Amanda Moore both of Decatur, Briana Peper of Illiopolis, Megan Rabe of Ursa, Laura Reynolds of Pleasant Plains, Nyamochir Tserenlkhagva of Chicago; and from Missouri new inductees include Nathan Manhanke of St. Louis and Joshua Walters of St. Charles. As a junior last year, Cassie Jarvis of Washington, Ill. was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa which is seldom accomplished. The inductees are typically seniors.
Following the induction ceremony, the Epsilon Chapter hosted a dinner with remarks given by Phi Beta Kappa graduate Julie Bodam Macartney '98.

Illinois College Facebook Illinois College Twitter Illinois College Instagram Illinois College YouTube    Contact Us  Directions  Login  Site Map
Illinois College   |  1101 West College Avenue, Jacksonville, Illinois 62650   |   217.245.3000   |
search login

Click here to cancel

You were trying to view a protected page.
Please login to gain access or cancel to go back to the site.
User ID:  

Forgot your password?