Illinois College -> Illinois College celebrates academic excellence
About Us


Illinois College celebrates academic excellence


Illinois College recognized academic achievement during the fourth annual Celebration of Excellence on Friday, April 25. The daylong celebration allowed students and faculty to take part in activities that commend academic excellence, a hallmark of the college since its founding in 1829.

The Honors Convocation, the ceremonial portion of the day’s activities, was held in Rammelkamp Chapel. Elizabeth Tobin, dean of the college, offered remarks on the subject of excellence, after which five major awards for academic excellence, service and teaching were awarded to Illinois College students and faculty. The student marshals for the 2014-2015 academic year were named, graduates slated for induction into Phi Beta Kappa were recognized, and the Julian Monson Sturtevant Campus Leadership Award winners were announced. The Harry Joy Dunbaugh Distinguished Professor Award and the Don P. Filson Faculty Award for Vision for the Future were also presented.

Brielle Jones of De Land and Aaron Traum of Rockford, both juniors, were chosen as student marshals for the next academic year. The marshals who were chosen based on demonstrated academic excellence and campus leadership will lead academic processionals held on campus throughout the year. This designation is considered one of the highest honors a member of the incoming senior class can receive.

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest and most distinguished honor society. One of only 11 colleges in the state to offer membership into this distinguished society, the Illinois College Epsilon chapter was founded by Charles Rammelkamp in 1931. Those inducted into Phi Beta Kappa include seniors Brandon Berry of Olney, Sovit Chalise of Kathmandu, Nepal, Abigail Dodd of Springfield, Audrey Knight of St. Louis, Elizabeth Manary of Moline, Kelly McCormick of Godfrey, Melissa Mennenga of Freeport, Paige Meyer of Beardstown, Phuong Nguyen of Thai Bihn, Vietnam, Clay Nordsiek of Arenzville, Hannah Oak of Taylor Ridge, Josephine Oshiafi of Lagos, Nigeria, Dustin Shea of Jacksonville, Mariah Sisson of Virden, Amibeth Thompson of Manchester, Mo., and Lacey Wilson of Algonquin; and junior Jacob Dander of Genoa.

The Julian M. Sturtevant Campus Leadership and Service Award calls attention to a select group of students who demonstrate active campus service and leadership throughout their college careers. Those honored were Jasper Brown of Canton, Ira Dawson of Griggsville, Leslieann Harris of Chicago Heights, Melissa Mennenga of Freeport, Phuong Nguyen of Thai Binh, Vietnam, Andrew Schultz of Heyworth and Kathryn Stroud of Shalimar, Fla.

Jeff Garland, associate professor of art, was presented the Harry Joy Dunbaugh Distinguished Professor Award during the convocation. This prize is considered the greatest honor bestowed upon an Illinois College faculty member. A student committee, with oversight from the dean of the college, selects the recipient each academic year.

The Don P. Filson Faculty Award for Vision for the Future was awarded to Steven Gardner, professor of modern languages - Spanish. This honor is awarded to the faculty member who sees beyond the scope of the status quo to further develop or implement a vision which can move the college forward. This faculty award was established by 1970 Illinois College graduate Darlene Nelson in memory of Dr. Filson’s vision which was for Illinois College to have a computer science department.

The Celebration of Excellence featured more than 50 students presenting recent research efforts during presentations and poster sessions in various locations on campus. Presentation and poster subjects covered all areas of the liberal arts curriculum.

For more information on the Celebration of Excellence contact Andrew Jones, director of the Center for Academic Excellence, at 217-245-3574 or at
About Illinois College

Founded in 1829, Illinois College is a residential liberal arts college fostering academic excellence rooted in opportunities for experiential learning while preparing students for lifelong success. The college is located in Jacksonville, Ill. With an enrollment of about 1,000 students, the college offers over 50 undergraduate programs and a Master of Arts in Education degree program. In 1932 the society of Phi Beta Kappa established a chapter at Illinois College, and it remains one of only 11 in the state.

Illinois College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association.

Visit or call 217-245-3467 for more information.

Media Contact Information
Office of Marketing and Communications
Amy Rourke
Writer and Public Relations Manager


  • Apply Now
  • Visit Campus
  • Deposit Now
search login