Illinois College -> Newest group of Heritage Scholars announced
About Us


Newest group of Heritage Scholars announced


The Office of Admission recently announced 100 high school students as Heritage Scholars for the 2012-2013 academic year. The Heritage Scholarship ranges from $44,000 to $64,000 over eight semesters of study at Illinois College.

This year’s Heritage Scholars are a strong group of students boasting an average ACT of 27, an average high school GPA of 4.19 on a 4-point scale and an average class rank in the 93 percentile.

Heritage Scholar recipients include Amy Woods of Alexander; Aaron Winenger of Alton; Wesley Burton of Arenzville; Margaret Allen and Bennett Smith of Ashland; Courtney Musson and Braden Wherley of Astoria; Holly Crocher of Athens; Colby Butler of Auburn; Hannah Schweiss, Julie Weier and Amanda Wood of Belleville; Bryan Ricci of Bethalto; Jordan Arjona of Bloomington; Meghan Carriger of Bluffs; Leah Shumaker of Buffalo; Taylor Dittmer of Burnside; James Olroyd and Nicholas Walden of Carlinville; Kimberly Lake and Megan Prough of Carrollton; Stephanie Boas of Champaign; Austin Dormire of Clayton; Emily Flint of Decatur; Riley Marshall of Divernon; Savannah Trent of Dunlap; Taylor Duffy of Ferris; Dakota Kamm, Mathew Murphy, Mallory Pierson and Nathan Speckhart of Girard; Monica Murphy of Greenfield; Delaney Billings of Hamilton; Marcus Breden and Cory Clothier of Hardin; Jill Friedrich, Hadley Karrick and Lauren Pierson of Havana; Sarah Hickey of Highland; Rachel Puckett of Hillsboro; Abigail Bruner, Margaret Gibbons, Paige Graham, Alex Hays, Lauren Ingram, Taylor Ingram, Sydne Peck, Davey Sexton, Collin Sheehan, Emily Tabeek and Grant Wilson of Jacksonville; Kristen Maher of Jerseyville; Jordan Gibson of Kincaid; Christopher Hollis of Kirkwood; Kenneth Lee of Knoxville; Lauren Tippett of Lewistown; Daniel Lewis of Mahomet; Amanda Henton of Mechanicsburg; Rebekah Tallcott of Mendon; Alisha Kerr, McKaylia Large and Carlie Sides of Meredosia; Nathan Zimmerman of Mount Sterling; Teresa Brase of Moweaqua; Rudy Pate of Murrayville; Marlee Bradshaw of New Salem; Skylar Kline of O’Fallon; Bailey Stokes of Oquawka; Andrew Monney of Oreana; Kyle McIndoe of Palmyra; Kody Krupps of Peoria; Erin Bettis, Katelyn Rebbe, Megan Sampson and Stacey Sinclair of Petersburg; Aaron Edwards of Plainville; Amanda Boyer, Emily Doane and Catherine Richards of Quincy; Courtney Fleck and Sarah Klebe of Riverton; Brandon Pollard of Roodhouse; Andrew Kluemke of Sherman; Loni Manalia of Shipman; Genevieve Elkin, Madison Ralph, Zachary Thomson and Linsey Torchia of Springfield; Tyler Gillson of Staunton; Kyle Cody of Sullivan; Collin Dooley of Sutter; Makenzie Finks of Taylorville; Justin Groennert of Trenton; Crystal Beckman and Laura Berry of Valmeyer; Emily Hasara of Virden; Kyra Koehler of Warsaw; Mary McManus of Waterloo; Taylor Coad of White Hall; and Anna Butterfield of Williamsville.

“Illinois College appreciates our long standing partnership with Central Illinois and the strong heritage this area brings to the history of the nation and the College,” explained Stephanie Elpers Chipman, vice president of enrollment management and college marketing. She continued, “Illinois College maintains our 180-year commitment to educating students of promise with the Heritage Scholarship Program. We are proud to celebrate the best and brightest from the surrounding 38 counties as Illinois College Heritage Scholars.”

To be considered for the scholarship, students must have been nominated by their high school counselor, principal, school superintendent or an Illinois College alumni educator. In addition, the students were required to meet two of the following three criteria: rank in the top 10 percent of his or her high school graduating class, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4-point scale, or have an ACT composite score of 25 or higher.

The counties included in the program include Adams, Bond, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Clinton, DeWitt, Fayette, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Jersey, Knox, Logan, McDonough, McLean, Macon, Macoupin, Madison, Mason, Menard, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Peoria, Piatt, Pike, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, St. Clair, Tazewell and Warren. Students who attend and will graduate from high school in the spring of 2013 will be eligible for this award during the following academic year.

Students or school administrators interested in learning more about this scholarship opportunity should contact Kristen Prief Reed ’07, coordinator of the Heritage Scholarship Program, at 217.245.3054. Nomination forms for 2013 will be mailed to area high schools or can be accessed online at
About Illinois College

Founded in 1829, Illinois College is a residential liberal arts college fostering academic excellence rooted in opportunities for experiential learning while preparing students for lifelong success. The college is located in Jacksonville, Ill. With an enrollment of about 1,000 students, the college offers over 50 undergraduate programs and a Master of Arts in Education degree program. In 1932 the society of Phi Beta Kappa established a chapter at Illinois College, and it remains one of only 11 in the state.

Illinois College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association.

Visit or call 217-245-3467 for more information.

Media Contact Information
Office of Marketing and Communications
Amy Rourke
Writer and Public Relations Manager


  • Apply Now
  • Visit Campus
  • Deposit Now
search login